Medical Questions > Relationships > Family Relationships Forum

23 years old, problem with parents

Hello, I wish a moderator can move this thread to the appropriate forum because I didn't know where to put it otherwise.

I grew in a very loving environment, and caring family, since I got asthma since I was 1, and I'm the lonely kid among 3 girls in the family. A bit, too spoiled.

However, when I grew up, my parents always wanted the best of me, I have 3 cousins at my age, and I was always expected to be the best, all eyes on me, and I'm not that good with studying. Any trouble with schooling always resulted in my dad/mom yelling at me/disciplining me.

When I grew up more, I went into small college to study nursing, was my call because I didn't know what else to do, and I wasn't even sure I like this subject, I was kinda lost and didn't know of how many options out there to pick, I just wanted a small subject to finesh very early and not work very hard.

When something bad happens, I always got the blame on me, even in car accidents when the brakes didn't hold (not because of speed), or a problem with a teacher, or anything, I got the blames for some reason.. and even if they didn't say it directly, I felt it from them.

One day my dad knew I skipped few lessons in college (I was 20), and he yelled at me and insulted me infront of the whole family (including uncles and grandpa/mas ...) and I felt so degraded, and since then I started to feel distinct from the family, so.. offline, I stopped sitting with my parents for a little chat like we used to do when I was young, I don't even feel comfortable in their presence anymore ...

I want to know if this is normal for a guy at my age, 23 years old, to feel this way toward his parents, though I realy believe it's not, because I realy feel awkward and discomfort in their presence, and talking to them makes me sick (FOR SOME REASON/S ...).