Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Orthopedics Forum

14 year old diagnosed with SCFE

I am looking for any advise, guidance, reccommendations, etc. with regards to SCFE. We just received word yesterday from our pediatrician that her MRI showed early signs of SCFE, and is being referred to an othropedic. She is EXTREMELY athletic and has aspirations of playing college basketball and beyond. In everything I can find on-line, it sounds as though the ONLY option of treatment for this is surgery, including screws or pins, which also seems to have very high risks associated with the surgery. It also seems as though the diagnosis is made from symptoms and pictures. Are there any other tests to be ran to support the diagnosis?

I would much appreciate any insight or learnings from others.

Thanks,
Concerned Mom
Did you find this post helpful?
|

User Profile
replied February 5th, 2010
Community Volunteer
I am not a doctor, however, I would suggest that you get a second opinion before you go for the surgery...Not that it may not be necessary, but for peace of mind...I question with this type of problem if she will be able to be as active in life as college basketball...I would worry about the strenuous activity in this sport...I hope that all works out well for her....Take care..

Caroline
|

replied February 8th, 2010
Hi -