Medical Questions > Mental Health > Depression Forum

Why am I depressed w/ low self-esteem

I am currently a freshman in college. I am in a good sorority, I was a cheerleader in high school, and my family is well-off. I know that I have absolutely no reason to suffer from depression or low self-esteem, but somehow... I am completely miserable. On the outside, I appear to be OK... but on the inside, I am an absolute mess.

Ten minutes ago, I went off at my parents for no reason. Whenever they speak to me, I sound like a three year old. I complain about everything and pretty much everything that they say to me drives me up the wall. I know that they really do mean well, but it is so hard to act normally. Going off at them is becoming an instinct and I would do anything to fix it and be able to show some respect. Right now, I am sitting in our room in the Hard Rock Hotel on a family vacation. Instead of being appreciative, I've been a complete b*tch this whole time. I am nineteen years old and I shouldn't have to act this way about my parents.

In public, I'm paranoid. I feel like everyone is looking at me and that everyone else is so much better off than I am. I know that this isn't true, but this is what I've believed since I've been very little. It's pretty much destroyed my self esteem. Since I'm in college now and on my own, it's been showing. Although I do consider myself to be socially literate being that I got myself into a good sorority, I am having some issues with friends, with group situations in classes, and with having enough confidence to be persuasive.