Medical Questions > Womens Health > Menstruation Forum

2 weeks of bleeding with cramps

User Profile
i have taken the b/c pill tri sprintec for over a year. last month my period if you want to call it that came and went in about 2 days. My husband and i had sex jan 1. that night or early the next morning i noticed bright red bleeding. I thought that maybe he had scatched me and thought nothing of it. Not more that 2 days later my so called period came. I was on the 3rd week of pills. I am still haveing like dingy brown discharge ( that is what it is normally like for my preriod) . this week marks 2 full weeks of this. I do have some lower abdominal cramps, headaches and cold. the weather here has been no right cold. I have noticed the temp in one ear has been in the 99 range. if is means a pregancy, i work as a nurse and so i am around alot of heavy lifting and combative people on a daily basis. I have not noticed any change really in more urination but i ahve noticed alot more gas and burping lately. is this normal, could it me a miscarriage. please help

Did you find this post helpful?
|

User Profile
replied January 13th, 2010
Menstruation Answer A9104
Hi,

Welcome to the ehealthforum and I am really glad to help you out. Your concern is regarding the intermenstrual bleeding that you had. It could be due to several causes. First, it can be due to a miscarriage because you had unprotected intercourse prior to that and that too can occur in contraceptive failure. However, to differentiate this menstrual bleeding from a miscarriage, I would suggest that you do a urine for pregnancy test or get your serum HCG levels estimated. The HCG (it is a hormone) levels rise only in pregnancy and its levels are raised even for a few days after a miscarriage.