Medical Questions > Mental Health > Schizophrenia Forum

11 Ways to cope with Schizophrenia without Medication

User Profile
I have been Hearing Voices for the past 14 years. During this time, I have never taken a med or consulted a psychiatrist or psychologist, even though I have suffered hallucinations, depression, psychosis and mania.
My reasons for never seeking medical help are simply - I never thought I was crazy. It was the Voices I was hearing who were trying to drive me insane and I countered and fought back with every means at my disposal.
At the the time, I had never heard of Schizophrenia, never knew people called it a mental illness and have always considered the Voices I hear to be real completely separate entities from me.

I have written this article to help people who suffer from the terrible side effects of their meds and would like to come off them, as well as for people who would like to try a a non medicated approach in dealing with Hearing Voices and Schizophrenia.

11 Ways to cope with Hearing Voices and Schizophrenia without any Medication

1) Store a happy picture in your head that you can refer to at anytime when your mind is troubled.

2) Take deep breaths and concentrate on your breathing and your happy picture. Refuse to let your thoughts trouble you or wander into thinking about things that cause Guilt, Paranoia and Fear.

3) Find a Chant, Song or Sound you like and Repeat it Constantly to Block the Voices. Do this when the Voices are incessant and troublesome and if you are unable to cope with a turned on TV or radio.

4) Concentrate and Listen to a Soothing Audio of Your Choice when unable to sleep, or suffering sleep deprivation - leave the TV or radio on the whole night, it will help you enjoy a dreamless sleep.

5) Share and Discuss your experiences with your friends or an online support group. It will stop you from becoming paranoid and isolated. At the very least, you will be able to get a few good laughs out of it.