Medical Questions > Mental Health > Addiction, Recovery Forum

Tumbling back down the rabbit hole

It's amazing how quickly not only your tolerance returns but how your mind and values rapidly shift back to a place of comfort. Being an addict, I am having the hardest time coming to terms with the "use or don't use all at" concept. I know it's what I have to do to regain control over my life. But I don't want to say goodbye to such a long-time 'friend'.

I've come far, in the past few year. I've been smoking pot and drinking for over ten years, and using hard drugs for almost five. I am fed up with 'getting high' being the focus of my energy. When I don't use I become a totally different person, I'm no longer thinking about when I can take my next hit, and how high I'm gonna get etc.

It's interesting how quickly you fall back into the zone, that mind-set, that familiar place where you feel safe & comfortable. Not necessarily happy, but content and comfortable. Wanting, but not bothering with, moving forward to doing things, living life. You have all the ideas, and so many, and you are so excited by all of them you want to be able to work out a suitable time, like once a month or two, where you can just relax, fall back into your 'junkie' mindset and just get wasted as, thinking about things, writing down good ideas.