Medical Questions > Mental Health > Sleep Disorders Forum

Trouble sleeping after broken back

User Profile
Hello,

I might mention things that aren't the problem, but I'm going to include whatever I think may play a part in it. I am an 18 year old male and I broke my back about a year ago. I had delayed healing, so it took longer to heal, and I've been having trouble sleeping since. About 5 months after that I started getting panic attacks. Also on top of this I'm a college student. Whenever I try to fall asleep and I'm just about to enter my dream state I get a really weird indescribable sensation and wake up with the room spinning. I also still have bad back pain and a sharp/tight pain in my chest when I lay down. It ended up to the point where I fell asleep at 5am and woke up around 2pm or 3pm. I tried taking melatonin and I did not like the way it made me feel, even though it is "Natural". I was also prescribed Hydrocodone or the pain but it made me feel weird, the same feeling when the hospital I was staying at overdosed me with morphine. I have tried to fall asleep early, but I just lay there for hours in pain with so much on my mind. About 4 days ago I thought to myself, "If I can't get my sleeping pattern back to normal falling asleep early, then how about I try falling asleep late by staying up the whole day". I was going to stay awake the whole day, but then I started feeling strange (I explain more of why I feel this way in the next paragraph). So my next plan was to stay up and struggle to stay awake 4 extra hours each day and then sleep for 9 hours. At one point I was able to stay awake until 4pm! All i needed was one more day to fall asleep at 8pm. But, the day after that I couldn't even stay awake until 10:30am. Right now as I am typing this it is 8:20am and the last time I woke up from sleep was around 7pm. I have doctors appointments, physical therapy, calls to make about a therapist, but I cant do that if the only time i'm awake I can't feel like