Hi
I'm a bit new to all this but thought it worth a go. Its nice to see there are people going through the same thing. I find myself addicted to tramadol, which I take due to having a couple of protruding discs in my back. I used to be addicted to co-codamol and came off these sometime ago but had to start on tramadol due to the pain. I take 2 50mg tabs in the morning along with a pregabolin then the same in the evening. I recently ran out for a weekend and had really bad flu symptoms with head aches etc. I really want to get off these horrible tablets and want to go cold turkey as i find the whole cutting down process drags it out.
I have heard l-theanine supplements can help with the withdrawal. Does anyone know of good ways to help getting some sleep as this is the part i find most awful, laying awake at night tossing and turning but feeling exhausted.
Is there anyone out there that has found any good natural painkillers to help when they want to come off anything with opiates or that which is addictive.

help please
Did you find this post helpful?
|

User Profile
replied March 1st, 2012
Especially eHealthy
albertaddict,

While tramadol is not a true opioid, it does have opioid-like properties, since, among other effects, it does act at the mu opioid receptor.

There is a "home remedy" out there for opioid detox, called the "Thomas recipe". The big problem I have with it, is the use of benzodiazapines, which can be addicting themselves, and are a controlled medication.

The other aspects of the formula may be of use to you. However, the best way to get off of any medicine like this is with a slow taper, under a physician's supervision.

Good luck.

THOMAS RECIPE

Taper your Vicodin (or other opioid) dose as much as you can before hand, and if possible take some time off from work or any other obligations you might have.

What you need:
1. Valium or any other type of benzodiazepine like Ativan, Klonopin, Xanax etc…
2. Immodiun.
3. L-Tyrosine.