Medical Questions > Mental Health > Schizophrenia Forum

Brief Psychosis Or Schizophrenia?? Unsure

hi all. when i was in 6th grade i started to believe out of nowhere that i was the last decendant of the dinosaurs and that there was a parallel universe to which i was to unlock after i graduated from NYU studying paleontology. i believed that i was to go to the desert (unsure which one) and find the key to the parallel dimensions. (this happened shortly after i had watched super mario brothers the movie. the real life one that really sucked. anyways) and that i had a special power, which i called yoshi. i believed and felt like i just needed to concentrate and then all of a sudden i would feel really warm all over. i felt like i could call upon answers to tests and that i would get 100s every time. i felt like my "power" would lead me to the right answer. like looking at the letters of the choices and concentrating really hard would make one answer pop out from all the rest. i would hear voices, one of which i believed to be God trying to tell me that i was wrong, the other my "power" trying to convince me that it was right and i really was the princess of an alternate world. the "god" voice and the power voice would fight with each other and i would hear this. (unsure if i was kind of forcing the voices to come or not). i convinced myself i was adopted and i would spend countless hours planning for when and where i would find my true home. i continued with this delusion for a year until one day i woke up and realized it wasnt real. just like that it went away. the voices and everything.