Must Read
Learn the basics about autoimmune disorders, including risk factors, diagnosis, and treatment options. ...
Learn about risk factors to developing an autoimmune disorder. ...
Learn about screening and diagnosis options available for autoimmune disorders....
I know that something is not right, but I have never had any concrete diagnosis. I work in health care so i'm trying to stay objective. I'm 40 years old and female. In my late twenties I had a very seroious bout of joint pain- bylateral- swelling and extreme fatique. It went on for months, I remember cleary, walking with my son who was young at the time and thinking " I could just lay down on this sidewalk and die I am so tired". It passed within about 3months. Then I had a horrible rash on my face which the Dr. (dermatologist) even took pictures of, but he said it was rosacea. The sun makes it flare. Several years after that I had horrible bouts of dizziness accompanied by muscle twitches and myoclonic jerks( 20-30 a night) along with unsteady walking-vertigo. Then a neurologist said I could have some sort of mild m.S. Then once again all symptoms dissapeared. After that I was well for many years. About 3 years ago I had a type of skin condition that I really paid no attention to. They were brownish spots on my chest and neck that looked like coins for lack of a better description. I've recently had a " rosacea flare" swelling and redness around my eyes and upper cheeks, the tiredness has returned and so has pain in my bladder and gi tract. I am not sure why i'm writing here, but I have this feeling that all along the Dr.S have been missing something. I understand the rules of this forum, I guess I just need to vent. I really hate not knowing what is wrong with me. The coin shaped lesions disapeared after I applied steroid cream. Any ideas, not diagnosis, would be greatly appreaciated. Especially this one: has anyone who actually has lupus been told that at first it was rosacea?

Warm regards
shakti