Medical Questions > Pregnancy Forum > Pregnancy Forum

Hyperemisis during pregnancy

User Profile
Hello, I am a soldier deployed in Iraq with a urgent problem with my wife. She is 18 weeks pregnant and having some serious problems that we can not get answers about. She is suffering from hyperemisis. She can not keep anything down including water and food at all. Every time she eats or drinks it comes back up within 5 minutes. She says she vomits between 5-40 times a day. She is not over exadurating with the 40x, it is really that bad. She has lost about 40-50lbs since she began her pregnancy. In the last 2 weeks alone she lost 11. She was just told that an ultrasound shows that the baby is 10% under weight. She is in the hospital right now. Every time she goes in for dehydration, they fill her full of saline and send her back home the nexy day. Once she gets back home it all just starts again. She is experiencing a great deal of pain in the back of her throat from it being burned with stomach acid. Also I think she has protein in her urine. She has been to a rhumatologist for possible lupis with no conclusion.
My wife and my baby are at great risk and no matter how many times she goes to the ob/gyn, or the hospital we dont get any real answers. She has tried everything that is normally recommended for hyperemisis with no results. They are now concidering sending her to the university of chicago hospital, but i dont know what my insurance, tricare, is going to say about that. Please, if you know anything that might help, or if you are just able to give a real no bs idea of what is happening, or pass this along to a college that could, It would make all the diffenrence to both of us. We just cant handle not knowing what to do, and me having to just sit by idly and hear how my wife and baby are deteriorating away
Thanx,
SPC. Steven Pearson
U.S. Army

Did you find this post helpful?
|

User Profile
replied January 3rd, 2007
Pregnancy Answer A2057