Medical Questions > Pregnancy Forum > Getting Pregnant Forum

Out of the Blue Ovulation Cramps???

Here is my story: I have been tracking my cycles for a good 10 months ( I am a big planner, if you haven't guessed) and have a pretty good handle on when I ovulate. I also have a good handle on my symptoms. Three days ago my husband and I finally took the plunge and did not use a condom. It happened to be either the day of ovulation or the day before. Today I have bad middle stomach cramping and back pain. I have never had ovulation pain in the past. I know it sounds ridiculous, but why would I have ovulation pain out of the blue...Ironically 2 days after possible conception. Am I going crazy?
Did you find this post helpful?
|

replied October 24th, 2006
Active User, very eHealthy
Hi! Your onset of cramping and back pain so seem a bit odd, especially if you say you ovualted 2 days prior, but it could be that you had a late ovualtion day (do you track your basal temp? Did it dip on the day you thought you were ovualting?) if you did conceive however, I doubt that it would be a result of that. The sperm usually take 24-48 hours to swim to the egg (after that they usually die off!!) and implantation does not occur until 6-10 days after you ovualte, and then can sometimes be associated with a mild crampy feeling and some light spotting.
I would wait for a few days (or until the 6-10th day after o'ing) and see how you feel then. It's too early to tell if you conceived or not!
Hope this helps even a little! Good luck to you Smile
|

replied October 31st, 2006
Well, the cramping has continued along with spotting (dark brown...Just a few drops) on 7 dpo (i haven't spotted between periods for a good 5 years). I am currently on 9 dpo...So now it is just a waiting game. Also have sore breasts/swollen breasts, gassy, blue veins on breats and a bit of insomnia. So in a few more days I will hopefully have my answer.
|

Experienced User
Sounds promising. Keep us posted.
|