I am 59 and have just been told by my doctor in the uk that I need a hip replacement following four years of pain. But I am a horse rider and she was very doubtful if I could continue after the operation. Can anyone out there advise me - maybe one of the new ceramic replacements would work? I am new to this and desperate to know if I have to give up my favourite hobby and my dream of one day owning my own horse.
Did you find this post helpful?
|

replied January 19th, 2004
Hi
Im a horseback rider 2 and I dont know that much about hip replacements but maybe you can talk to your doctor on alternative treatments or what can be done to help with being able to ride after the surgery.

Also if you cant ride you can always own the horse.
Hope you get better
|

replied May 25th, 2004
Find Out From Horse Organizations
There are many associations which help the disabled, and may be of help to you. I have pins in my femur, and it was put back a bit rotated, and is shorter than the other. I was on the back of a theraputic horse at 6 weeks (because I had to find out). I was not allowed to be fully weight bearing for 4 months, but I practiced in and out of an english saddle in our great room. The strength of the muscles as you recover I would say are the issue. Hips can pop out, spreading to ride might frighten your doc.
I kept at my docs, lots of pool therapy, and stretching on the bed etc.
I told doc, if I don't give it a reason to heal, (use it), it won't.
I am though in pain (my situation). After the last 2 years, I would slow down on the horses to relieve my own pain, but it's my life. It has been a lot of work. I would say, do it, and if you have to, you can get an extremely broke horse, and still take some short rides. You would not be the first.
|

replied May 26th, 2004
I Have a Student Who Rides Dressage And Small Jumps Who Has
A hip replacement.

It is good for her hip and her recovery has been great.

Her surgery was last falljavascript:emoticon(':d')
|