Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Dental Health Forum

Dentures At a Young Age (Page 1)

I am a 27 year old woman that was just told I need nearly $10,000 worth of bridgework. My dental insurance will pay only 20% of that, but will pay 100% of the cost of pulling all my teeth and full upper and lower dentures. I have no money for expensive dental work and my teeth hurt. I went ahead and set up the appointment to have my teeth pulled and dentures placed. This will be in less than two weeks. Can anyone tell me what I will go through when they pull all my teeth? How long will it take for me to get used to wearing dentures? I am still dating. I am very afraid that a guy will be turned off once he finds out I wear false teeth. Can anyone give me some advice?
Did you find this post helpful?
First Helper kalinjax
|

replied May 18th, 2006
I'm a dentist & I would really advise against having your teeth pulled. Not because it's unpleasant as a procedure but because of the long term implications. With time the bone will shrink where you've had teeth removed from and it will become increasingly difficult to get dentures to fit at all and you will lose some facial profile. Please think long & hard about it. I know it's expensive but try to find a compromise at least! I wish I could have a look!!!
|

replied December 3rd, 2009
Reply to your dental issue