Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Gout Forum

My Experiment... (Page 1)

I am a 42 year old white male who was diagnosed with gout in 1999. I suspect I had been suffering since 1994. My lifestyle in the 90s had a lot of rich foods and alcohol. My weight during this time has varied between 180 and 225.

I used to be on various gout drugs and grew weary of the complications. The final straw was when the damn doctor made me get emergency mris over thanksgiving weekend. Nothing was damaged but I quit seeing him.

I took matters in my own hands and as I am an engineer began a long road of discovery and experimentation. I'll rate each step 1 to 10 with 1 being worst and 10 being gout free.

My first experiment was to radically alter my diet to exclude alcohol and most rich foods. As you all know, hard to do for a length of time. I did this for 6 months and reduced the duration and frequency but did not eliminate it. Rated 3.

My next stab at this was to use a product called gout cure. It helped much better but I had to continue to abstain from alcohol and rich foods. The ingredients were advertised to clean out the liver and kidneys which to an engineer made sense. Clogged filters don't work well at cleaning anything. Rated 4.

The next experiement had me examine neutralizing acid via lemon juice and water. I still used gout cure. This went on for 3 months. The combination seemed to work well but occasional pain was experienced. Duration and frequency was at the lowest. I noted the tophi reducing in my body. My sleep pattern improved and I could go the night without discomfort. Rated 7.

The next phase had me focused more on acid reduction/neutralization. I bought coral calcium powder and swilled a 12 ounce glass each morning. Maybe one teaspoon of the calcium. I ceased gout cure and saw yet another jump in quality. Rated 8.