Medical Questions > Mental Health > Anxiety and Stress Forum

Am I Going to Have to Stop Working?

I am a nurse believe it or not at a hospital. I deal with illness and death on a regular basis. It was a lady's death that began this ordeal with anxiety and a few heart attack patients that just topped it all off. That is where this severe gad with panic attacks began.
I find it hard to go to work, I turn down shifts even though I know I need to go and I want to work I am just scared. I haven't met with my psychiatrist yet and I am wondering if he is going to tell me to take time off work, since that is what I think and feel has triggered this disabling disturbance in my life.
I am scared that I am going to be like this forever, I hate having to turn to ativan to calm me down so I can do the normal things in life. I can understand getting nervous about speaking in front of a large group of people but getting nervous to go grocery shopping or to a family gathering.. It just doesn't add up to me.
My family is getting frustrated and I am afraid that this is going to ruin my relationship with my husband. We have been married for 2 years and everyone knows that the first few years are hard enough but add this onto all the other stresses.
I have been always conscious of what other people think of me, and now I wonder what they must be thinking. "is she crazy or what?"
i am just greatful that this forum is here for me to write down my thoughts and read what others are going through. To just know that I am not alone.
Did you find this post helpful?
|

replied January 3rd, 2006
Experienced User
Hi,