Hi, i'm new to this but need to talk...I am 28 and a mother of two. I'm just coming out of a bad marriage where I had little worth and felt like I was just along for the ride. I got married young (17) and basically grew up with my soon to be ex. My life revolved around him and his selfish, irresponsible behavior... He made most of the decisions and I followed along like a little puppy. My self esteem was zero and I felt like I could do no right on my own.
I put up with alot in that marriage ... I stayed invisible way too long and realized that things were never going to change. Instead of trying to convince myself again that it all was my fault and falling deeper into depression, I decided to get out and start a new life.
Well, I got out but I feel stuck. I have a hard time making decisions on my own...My self esteem level is still very low...I tend to beat myself up over the decisions i've made in the past...And I don't know what to do with myself. I need to be stronger for my children but I don't know how. Most of the time I just feel like I am wasting my life away... Just watching it go by day by day with nothing to show for it. My family is happy that I left my husband and they are rooting for me...But i've moved to a new state and I don't have any friends nearby which leaves me feeling lonely...But most of all I feel stripped and empty...Like what little I had of myself was taken away by my ex and there is nothing left of me.
H e l p....
Did you find this post helpful?
|

replied December 17th, 2003
Strong Women
Gomez,
you are a strong person! Leaving a situation like that takes a strong person and a smart one. I know you don't feel like you can make your own decisions, and that your self-esteem is low but just the path you took to another state to begin your own like proves other wise. Remember you are a women and women are strong!! When you get to feeling down and maybe indecisive just think I am women hear me roar!!!!
Love,
lisa marie
|