Medical Questions > Mental Health > Stop Smoking Forum

I Could Use Some Encouragement

User Profile
I am 27 ive smoked since I was 14 I love and hate cigaerettes at the same time
cancer runs in my family
so does emphasima (i know I spelled that wrong)
i am addicted
i quit when I was pregnant- out of guilt
but cheated a few times
i lost the baby 3 months ago
since then my smoker friend quit due to being hospitalized for a collapsed lung at age 25
i cant seem to find the will power yet
even though I work in health care and I saw someone coughing up blood the other nite who has lung cancer
i could use some encouragement too!
Did you find this post helpful?
|

replied February 23rd, 2007
Experienced User
Go spam some where else you quack.

All I can say is that you do not like smoking you seem to hate it. You think you like it, but that is only the addiction talking.

I was able to quit by reading a book about quitting smoking. It was not just any book. I am not trying to spam you, or make a buck off of you. I get no money at all. All I get is the enjoyment knowing I was able to help some one else get off of cigarettes.

Check out Allen Carr's Easy Way to Quit Smoking. It works. Also it is much cheaper than the patches or gums out there. By the book second hand off of amazon.com if you have to. Just get the book and read it. You will be happy you did so.
|

User Profile
replied October 2nd, 2007
The main reason people smoke is due to emotions mostly depretion. You lost your baby that seems like punishment enough, you have to tell yourself every day I'm quiting today. Another thing you can try is cut down every day from the number you smoke then before you know it you will be down to none & continue like that. Best of luck.
|

replied October 3rd, 2007