I'm a student and at my uni we have a diff system in which we're given cases and r suppossed to find out what could be wrong with the patient. And our most recent case is on cellulitis. I cant find enough on it and was wondering if any1 could help me.

Cheerz........Amber Smile
Did you find this post helpful?
|

replied November 4th, 2003
Cellulitis
What exactly do you want to know? I've had it 5 times in the last nine months, so I feel like an expert on it. I assume you know at least the basics about it, right?
|

replied November 7th, 2003
Yeak I just want to know wot causes it, wot treatment is used and stuff like that. Like u said, just the basics.
|

replied November 7th, 2003
Cellulitis
The stapholococus (sp?) germ (bacteria)is what causes it. Staph lives on practically everyone's skin--somewhere on the body. When there is a break in the skin, the staph germ attacks. Most of the time, just washing the cut area right away with antibacterial, peroxide, etc., prevents an infection from occurring. When the skin's immune response isn't strong enough, the infection occurs. Antibiotics, such as augmentin, are prescribed. Usually one course is enough to clear it up. Twice i've had subcutaneous infections, where the infection was trapped below the skin. When that happened, I had to have the site lanced and drained and was put on intravenous antibiotics, rocefin or vancomyecin. These can be serious infections, especially for people with diabetes or comprimised immune systems. I have lupus, so that's why I have such a hard time with the infections. Hope this helps.
Lizbet
|

replied January 30th, 2004
Different Form of Cellulitis - Erysipelas