Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > TMJ Forum

Do These Work - Tens, Trigger Point Injections, Etc???

Hi,

i'm a newbie on this board, but my tmj isn't new (already 4 years) :(. Finally found this board and i'm hoping I can get help here.

My symptom is at a mild (but lasting and annoying) level. Usually have pain around my cheek after every meal and I have to take a nap for half an hour or so to force my muscles to relax.

I saw a dentist (also diplomate, american board of orofacial pain) in the bay area, california. His diagnosis was bilateral capsulitis of the tmj joint, facial/cervical myositis, and headache/facial pain. The treatment plan includes: 1) a splint, 2) soft tissue mobilization, 3) transcutaneous electro-neuro stimulation (tens), and 4) trigger point injections.

My questions are:

1) I wonder if there's anybody on this board who has received these treatments?

2) also wonder what side effects and what long-term (say 5-10 years) effects of these treatments would be? Anybody had similar treatment before? Would appreciate it if you'd like to share your experience. How long would the positive effects of the treatment will last? (i have some physical therapy before - the pain was relieved but came back after a couple of weeks.)

3) I also would like to know much you paid in the long run. My insurance told me it would be covered - but when I looked their detailed policy, it's stated only surgical treatments for tmj would be coverd.

Any comments or suggestions will be greatly appreciated. Many thanks in advance!

Best,
wayne :)
Did you find this post helpful?
First Helper 2netta
|

replied March 20th, 2006
Tmj Therapies Do They Work?
Hi :lol: ,
i have had tmj problems all my life. I had radical orthodontic treatment that was absolutely necessary, but the negative side effect was severe tmj disfunction. And it turned into a messy osteo arthritis problem in the joint.