Medical Questions > Pregnancy Forum > Teen Pregnancy Forum

Um..just Thought It Was Cute And I'm Bored...lol

Positively pregnant: my teen pregnancy story

i can't remember the day anymore, but boy do I remember the month. It was march of 1996, and I was sick. Very very sick.

Puking is more like it. Maybe for some, it wouldn't have been that odd. After all, I was a college student, a stressed one at that. Too little sleep, too late of a night, maybe one too many drinks? But the problem was, I never threw up. Ever.

I suppose deep down I knew something wasn't right. The fact that I even went to the drugstore and bought a pregnancy test must mean that on some level I suspected. But for the most part, I was sure I was fine. I had the flu. The pregnancy test was just to be positive, that's all.

Negative. I knew it! No baby, just the flu. When my boyfriend called to check in on me he asked "are you sure you're not pregnant", and I was able to answer, completely honestly, "no, i'm not! It's just the flu".

Two weeks passed. The flu was gone. So was my period. I got a little worried, and pulled out the extra pregnancy test that had come in the box. Why I got a box that had two, I can't remember anymore. My boyfriend was nagging me day in and day out to make sure I wasn't pregnant. Why was I so afraid to pee on that stick? After all, i'd already done it once, and I wasn't pregnant. Why all this fear?

Into the bathroom I went, on the stick I peed. Thirty seconds passed, no need to wait longer. Two lines glared back at me, as dark as they could be. My hands were shaking. I grabbed the box, dug for the papers... It had to be a mistake! I wasn't pregnant - I wasn't!

Desperate, I called the phone number on the box, and was informed that although a false negative happens pretty frequently, a false positive rarely happened. Make an appointment with the doctor. Doctor? What for?

What were they saying? That this second test was the right one? I don't think so!