Medical Questions > Mental Health > Depression Forum

Adderall, Insomnia, & Anorexia

I'm a college student on about 60mg of adderall a day for add (20mg/3x/day). I'm incredibly dependent on it and use it primarily for weight control. I get incredibly satisfaction out of how long I can go without eating. I haven't been sleeping at all either, I usually go a few days without any sleep at all. Once in awhile I get 4 or 5 hours worth of sleep and then continue the cycle. I recently fractured my rib from having a cold and coughing too much/hard. I know my life is spiraling out of control and once in awhile I eat a considerable meal so my friends can stop worrying so much. I don't know what to do though, I refuse to ask for help or acknowledge my situation. I feel no desire to really change anything but i'm scared and feel like there is no one I can, or want to, talk to. I don't know why i'm really posting this, I guess I just wanted to share and see if anyone else has ever had the same problems while also using adderall or another type of amphetamine. I was never like this before I started using it. I'm depressed unless i'm on it, mainly because it's harder to restrict my food and I have a constant fear of getting fatter. Stopping the medication for a few months has never seemed to help either. I'm sure all 3 problems are connected so I wasn't sure which board to post on. Anyways, i'm not really sure what i'm looking for so no response is really necessary.... Arrow Confused
Did you find this post helpful?
|

replied October 7th, 2003
I haven't been in a situation exactly like yours - but I do know what it's like to live with depression.

I'm on prozac and trileptal, and the occasional xanax...

If your medications are making you not eat and not sleep, talk to your doctor immediately... Most likely he/she won't take you off them cold turkey, but who can say.

Wish I could give you more specific advice, but just know that someone here is listening. Smile
|