Medical Questions > Mental Health > Bipolar Disorder Forum

Lamictal side effects ? (Page 1)

User Profile
anyone here who took or is taking lamictal? please tell me your feedback on it and it's pros and cons for you.

I think, I was misdiagnosed...they took me off of it. still never sure since I am very cynical. I have social anxiety and awful pms thats for sure...I "jokingly" say my mother didn't know how to deal with me when they diagnosed me in high school. i was just a pms-y girl.

what was really scary about lamictal was it gave me great weight gain, numbness, and because I am an art student, TERRIBLE mechanical skills. I couldn't draw a circle with out getting lost! It was so hard to explain. and then I had little break downs over nothing! And sleepwalking to the point of falling out of my top bunk and going to the hospital!

and what was scary was...all those issues...went away when they weened me off. Except I now have new emotions I haven't felt in years...that I need to learnt o control. Like anger. I get mad at the world alot.

He said...I think... I was "Bipolar 2" but ahh he put me on 500 MEGS!!

that was so much!!!

what about you?
Did you find this post helpful?
First Helper 2KMILLER
|

User Profile
replied January 11th, 2008
i took it for a month
gradually to 100 mg, 500 sounds like a lot for him to give you o.O
but anyway, i didnt like it at all
the day after i took it i felt numb, like you said
i could barely think
and i started sleeping a loot more than normal and i got really depressed >.< it was pretty bad.
so yeah, i didnt like it =) lol
|

User Profile
Experienced User
It causes my husband to sleep a LOT. I don't know what his dosage is, however.
|

User Profile
Experienced User
Been On It a Long Time.