Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Hypoglycemia Forum

hypoglycemia symptoms returned

Hello everyone,
I'm new to this form but not new to hypoglycemia. I was diagnosed at age 10 after a 6 hour gtt as having reactive hypoglycemia. I'm now 22. For about 7 years I thought that my hypoglycemia has essentially disappeared as I was more or less without symptoms. I realize now that I was not without symptoms but rather that my symptoms had changed and I was simply not recognizing them anymore. During those years I developed some severe mental problems and fatigue and IBS. Probably from eating a lot of processed sugar and not balacing my meals. Well this past summer I started to see a chiropract who without knowing my history of reactive hypo suggested that I probably had some sugar processing issues. I sheepishly admitted to her that I had been DXed with hypo as a child but hadnt' followed the diet in about 7 years and had stopped checking my blood sugar a long time ago. She challenged me to start checking my sugar again and see if I was indeed having sugar processing issues. Well, my glucometer was at my parents house and I was at college. So when I came home three weeks ago for christmas I started checking my sugar again and found that my sugar was constanly borderline low (as in the highest numbers I've gotten have been in the 70's) but that I am very frequently running quite low (in the 40's and 50's). I found that the symptoms that I'm having when I'm in the 40's are not the same symptoms that I had as a child. In the past I would get dizzy and shakey and tearful when my sugar was too low. Now I just get flushed and feel as though I have a fever but can still function even as low as 40.