Medical Questions > Mental Health > Bipolar Disorder Forum

32 Bp Male W/extreme Difficulty Handling Breakups

Hi, I'm 32 and two months ago, I was diagnosed with BP 2 after about 8 years of steadily decreasing life management abilities. Bipolar runs extensively on my father's side of the family and my brother has it also.

MY BRIEF STORY:

Basically, my life was going picture perfect until I turned about 24. I graduated from one of the top 5 business schools in the country. I was a highly accomplished musician growing up. And, I was performing extremely well in my early career.

I personally would have to say I had a great childhood growing up. But it wasn't idyllic. I mean, I experienced the normal range of losses growin up. But I grew up with wonderful, loving and supportive parents who are still married to this day. I had lots of close friends growing up. Most of us are still close to this day.

I've always been very friendly and outgoing, and very well liked by women as well. I wasn't the most popular guy in school, but everybody knew me and I was very well liked. I had a girlfriend that I absolutely adored.

Then I turned 24 and the problems began:

1) I couldn't save any money.
2) Although I planned to stay home for a year to save money to get my own place, I couldn't seem to move out of my parents house.
3) I was hypersexual. I was blowing too much money in strip clubs.
4) My job stability was becoming worse and worse. I simply couldn't stay at a job for more than 6 months.
5) I was gaining ridiculous amounts of weight.
6) My sleep became worse and worse, etc.

It all came to a head when my girlfriend at that time left me. I literally cracked up. It would take about 2 years to fully recover. I briefly dated another woman after that for about a year. I broke up with her. But tried to get her back. She refused. I behaved desperately and became obsessed with getting her back.