Medical Questions > Mental Health > Eating Disorders Forum

I'm At My Lowest Point. Enough Is Enough.

Hi everyone, i'm new to this, and i'm sorry if the subject sounds a bit overdramatic. I've never written online about my eating disorder. I hope some of you take the time to read this little story of mine, and have the grace to reply - because this is a really sensitive issue for me.

I come from a working class family, in a town with the officially highest rate of drugs related crime and teenage pregnancy, and the lowest standard of secondary education. My parents... (predictable beginning) are both overweight, and both of them hate fatness. I'm an only child and their one wish was that i'd never know the misery of obesity. So, they decided to take preventative measures. While they did the cambridge diet (the one with no food, just pills) I was given slim-fast at the age of 5. Rosemary connelly's hip-n-thigh diet, and weight-watchers at 8. I attended the classes and everything. Thry took me jogging in the middle of the night so that nobody would see us and "laugh". I was really sporty, and also an early developer. My periods started when I was 8, and it was around that time I started reading teen magazines, and got the the idea to go without food to try and lose weight (i was a skinny child, btw). I was the *worst* anorexic in the world, so I eventually started making myself sick - i'm not sure how old I was, but probably about 9. I discovered laxitives when I was 11-12, but I found them so painful and unpleasant that i'd quit using them by about 15.