Medical Questions > Mental Health > Depression Forum

feeling depressed for the last 9 months

I have been feeling depressed for the last 9 months. I don't know what to do. I am in a bad spot. I really don't know what to say...so ill just start from the beginning. Please don't be upset with me and my spelling or grammar, I'm just going to write.

I am a 38 year old male, father of a 14 year old son and have been married for 16 years. I am a former Marine and gulf war vet. I have dedicated my life to others. I have been a full time police officer the last 14 years and have been involved in law enforcement the past 22 years.

The trouble started November of 2006. In 2006 I was asked and accepted a bid to run for sheriff of my home county. I was currently a Sergeant with a small city just outside the county i lived in. I knew it would be a hard fight and really didn't think i stood a chance. During the campaign i started to pick up some momentum. In March we surprised a large number of people by winning our party nomination as a large underdog. I was on cloud nine. The sacrifice my family had to make, the 80 hour work weeks and flat out hard worked had payed off...right...not really. This is when the good ends and the bad starts.

During the primary campaign i was promoted to Chief of Police, after winning the primaries i was given a letter stating that I would no longer be needed as Chief due to my political endeavors and that they felt I was no longer a good fit. One board member told me when i confronted them about the letter that i was "two timing" the city by running for sheriff in a different county. I received this letter on September 4Th 2006. Why do I remember the date...cus it was my birthday.