better option?
kids first, education career later
education career first, kids later
12%  12%  [ 1 ]
87%  87%  [ 7 ]
Total Votes : 8
User Profile
Which do you think is better and why?

Having children young ( 18-28 ), and focusing on your education and career later once your kids are all in school etc.

OR

Focusing on your education and career when you're young, and having kids at an older age. (29-30s+)

Whats your opinion/thoughts?
Did you find this post helpful?
|

replied July 17th, 2007
Extremely eHealthy
You didn't put all at the same time? I got married in October 2005, graduated from college in December 2005, found out I was pregnant in February 2006.
|

User Profile
replied July 17th, 2007
Active User, very eHealthy
I agree, add one with all at the same time.

I graduated high school May 2006 found out I was pregnant June 2006 started college august 2006. I then had my baby in Feb 2007 and here I am still trucking through college, work and being a young mommy.
|

replied July 18th, 2007
Extremely eHealthy
I think it's all a matter of opinion and what you can handle. I had a daughter when I was 18. For better or worse, I grew up with her. We had a lot of fun, but it was a huge struggle financially. I unfortunately had to spend a lot of time away with work and when I went back to college. I missed a lot of firsts. I have huge regrets about it.
I have a 4 month old and I'm 35. I really think I appreciate him more than I appreciated my daughter. I loved her with all I had and I certainly still do, but I'm in a completely different place now. I am able to be home at night to put him to bed and in the mornings when he gets up. (yikes, he's in daycare during the day though Rolling Eyes ) Yes, I'll be in my 50's when he comes of age. I won't say he'll have a better life, because I can't really say that, but he'll have what he needs and more, where she always had what she needed, but not a lot extra.