Medical Questions > Parenting > Teens Forum

Tiredness - Sever Fatigue.

I'm 17 years of age and I have an issue with tiredness after I eat my lunch every day. I wake up quite early since I'm still at school and I go to bed at around midnight every night, occasionally later. I eat my breakfast at around eight o'clock and I eat lunch at one o'clock. I have a snack at around four o'clock and I eat dinner around seven.

Directly after eating I feel fine for half an hour or so, but after that, a wall of tiredness seems to hit me and I can barely stay conscious for the next half and hour to an hour. I would just sleep at this time if I were able, but since I'm studying in school I have to pay attention. It often worries me since I miss basically the whole lesson straight after lunch and my notes are illegible - I have to copy from someone else later on.

I have mild asthma, a nut allergy - treated by piriton - and excma.

Thanks in advance for your help!
Did you find this post helpful?
First Helper verne01
|

replied July 22nd, 2013
Extremely eHealthy
Hello,

The first striking thing is the amount of sleep you are getting or not getting...
Some people can survive on three or four hours of sleep per night and others need considerably more. The eight hours that is often spoken of as being ideal, especially for the young, is really an average as some people will need ten, eleven or even twelve hours sleep at least a few times every week.
Being young you probably feel you don't need as much rest as that but I urge you to think again...

I suggest you go to bed earlier and earlier in increments until you find yourself waking naturally half an hour before the alarm clock is supposed to wake you.
Don't make instant or short-term judgements about the success or otherwise of such changes as they could take several weeks to bear a complete harvest...