Medical Questions > Mental Health > Schizophrenia Forum

Symptoms of schizophrenia- look here

User Profile
I am a psychology student and can tell you that schizophrenia is diagnosed using 5 criteria of which you must relate to all 5 criteria to be diagnosed schizophrenic by a doctor.
The first thing you should know, if you dont already, is that schizophenia IS NOT split-personality disorder so it is not about having multiple personalities.

Read these and see what ones apply to you:

Criteria A:
- The patient must have at least TWO of the following for a significant period of time during a one month period:
Hallucinations (experiencing physically or orally something that isnt there)
Delusions (wrong thoughts e.g. thinking people are out to get them or thinking they are better than they are, grandeur)
Disorganised Speech (when your speech doesnt make sense e.g. you may jump from one topic to another without realising)
Disoraganised or Catatonic Behaviour (being very disorganised or catatonic which means being very stiff or frozen and slow for periods of time e.g. some sz patients can sit frozen in a chair for hours on end without moving)
Negative Symptoms (meaning a lack of something you usually have e.g. inappropriate emotion)

Criteria B:
- They have social and occupational disfunction meaning you cannot function in society the way you used to

Criteria C:
- The symptoms must be persistent for at least 6 months

Criteria D:
- There must be no other mood disorder present e.g. depression

Criteria E:
- There must be no other organic cause e.g. the behaviour is not due to drugs, medication or any brain problems.

I hope this information helps anyone reading this and I am happy to answer any more questions you wish to ask if you message me.
Good Luck.

Read more: Schizophrenia Forum - I think that I may be schizophrenic. Any help? http://ehealthforum.com/health/i-think-tha t-i-may-be-schizophrenic-any-help-t265502. html#ixzz1D2VPlkdo