Hi, I'm a 17 year old student and am at college. I think I may be suffering from Anxiety, over the last 2 or 3 years I have been extremely self concious, I'm constantly worried about what other people think of me, especially at college. It makes me worry about the way I walk, am constantly thinking about my actions and terrified of making a fool of myself. I also find it hard to meet new people, for example, when my mum has a friend around and I am upstairs in my bedroom, I find that I have to pluck up lots of courage to go down stairs and confront them. This is the same situation when my sister (who is 2 years younger than me) has her friends round, as I worry about what they think of me and worry about my actions around them. On some occasions, I have kept myself shut upstairs to avoid them. This has also caused me to avoid attending parties/gatherings I have been invited to. I also worry about the most silliest of things such as putting my hand up in class and being asked to answer a question in class. I also think and expect the worst case senario in any situation. I worry about the health of my family members. Worry about my money and my mums financial situation. I am obsessive, for example I have to do things in a certain way to avoid something bad happening to me. I'm scared about dying. Everyday I feel I am suffering from an undetected illness (such as cancer and tumours). Sometimes I also experience a sudden wave of intense fear and panic, and everything seems unreal. (I am unsure whether these are anxiety/panic attacks), these first started when I was 12/13 years old and usually last 2-3 minutes. they are normally triggered when i think 'what if nothing is real? what if im not actually here? ' everything feels like a dream. I think i have managed to keep calm during these.

I am unsure whether I am suffering from anxiety, and would like some thoughts from you guys. I would be very pleased for any feedback. Many Thanks.
Did you find this post helpful?
|