Medical Questions > Lifestyle > Fitness Forum

Stuck in exercise rut

Hello. I'm 21, 5'3 and 127 pounds. I was about 134 in january, but my roomie and I started going to the gym for an hour every monday, wednesday, friday, and usually both weekend days, so I've been working out 3-5 times a week for almost 3 months...and I've lost 7 pounds...I don't see where I've lost any weight on my body..but the scale says I have..and my boyfriend thinks I have. I usually get on the elliptical for 30-40 mins, or I run/walk for 30-40 mintues, I usually burn 300-400 calories each time I'm at the gym. Then I do about 100 crunches, and I do some crunches and ab stuff in my room on days that I don't go to the gym. I'm in college, so I don't have time to go to the gym everyday, but we also walk on Tuesdays and Thursday since they are off gym days. But anyway..I seem to be stuck in a rut..I have been at 127 pounds for about a month or more...and I don't know what to do. My diet is not bad either...I eat oatmeal or cereal for breakfast, I eat lunch (either a sandwich or something from the dining hall at school, but I get veggies and stuff too, so I don't eat horribly for lunch), and then dinner varies (hamburger helper, tacos, stir-fry, chicken). I drink water all day except at dinner, I let myself have 1 fun drink a day (it's usually apple juice and I always have it with dinner). I occasionally have a snack at night too, because we eat dinner so early (usually 5:30). But my snacks are usually healthy (pretzels, crackers, wheatables). I don't know how much more I can do to change my diet. My boyfriend said my body is probably "happy" at it's weight, where I'm consuming and burning the same amount of calories. I'm worried about the summer though...since I'll be going home...but I go to the gym for kickboxing and body pump mon-thurs nights, so that's good. Oh and I've also noticed when I'm on the elliptical my heart rate doesn't get very high anymore...it used to get up to like 150-160 whe