Medical Questions > Lifestyle > Fitness Forum

Starting workouts

Let me start by saying that I'm in fairly poor shape. I've recently gained quite a bit of weight from slack eating and exercise habits, and the use of birth control.

I realize that I have quite a few questions about fitness here, so any help you can give me would be very appreciated!

Recently, I began walking and biking. I really enjoy being on my bike, but people are constantly advising me that riding my bike a few miles a day and walking every now and then isn't enough if I really want to drop weight and get in good shape - especially since I don't do it regularly (like I know I ought to).

I've been researching exercise routines and the like, but as a beginner I'm having difficulties making sense of everything I see and read.

I don't know which muscle groups I'm trying to target, or which I should be trying to target. I don't know which exercises are going to be helpful and which are going to be pointless. And I don't know if I'll even have the correct form when I AM exercising.

I don't have any home gym equipment as of right now and I don't have a membership anywhere. Honestly, I find the gym setting kind of intimidating, and can't really see myself enjoying it - most of the people working out there are already in great shape! Is it better to be in that type of setting when you're just starting out, like I am? Can I still get an effective work-out without that equipment?

I'm also worried that since I'm so out of shape, I'm going to start with the wrong exercises and end up feeling discouraged when I can't do them correctly. I'd like to start slow and get in the habit of working out, and then build up to a more rigorous routine.

Should I get in contact with a personal trainer, and have them help me develop a routine that's right for me - or can I really do it on my own?