Medical Questions > Mental Health > Anxiety and Stress Forum

Social Anxiety and shakiness.

Hello my name is Sam and i am a 19y/o Male. Throughout my life i've always had a minor social anxiety problem, stuff like not asking questions with teachers. I have also had a tremor in my hands since i was around 14y/o(Had a docter tell me it was normal). But up until i graduated high school i feel like my social anxiety is getting worse, along with my tremor. I had to do a presentation in high school and i remember my neck starting to shake along with my hands. In some social situations i find myself trying to calm down and try not to shake, but i find that makes it worse. This is starting to be a big problem with stuff like interviews with jobs, i don't want to look like i'm a nervous wreck. To be clear my tremor happens pretty much all the time, my hands always have a slight shake, stuff like being hungry for a long time will make it worse along with caffeine. Another health issue i have is scoliosis and kyphosis which makes my back weak at some times(Was told by my age its pretty much incurable). I want to know if their is any type of med or treatment that can tackle both the tremor and my social anxiety, social anxiety being the bigger problem. I have a feeling therapy is going to be very expensive, but my insurance might be able to covering any kind of medication.

Thank you for the help,
Sam
Did you find this post helpful?
First Helper User Profile
|

replied October 1st, 2014
Experienced User
First you need to talk with the doctor. It can be any sedative pills that can help keep anxiety under control
|

User Profile
replied July 20th, 2019
Hello and welcome to EHF !

I went through your query and i understand your concern.Anxiety is manageable but problematic. It needs frequent psychotherapy sessions, compliant medications use and avoiding the stressors for anxiety. Let your psychiatrist decide what is best for you.

Take care
|

replied July 23rd, 2019