Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Asthma Forum

short of breath, rapid heart rate, and tight chest.

So after an appt. with my primary care doc, he says I have hyper inflated lungs and "most likely have asthma". I have had a huge decrease in physical ability over the last year and it has gotten much worse in the last few weeks despite working out more. So today i went in for a pulmonary function test this a.m. and then called my doc this afternoon. He says it will take 4 weeks to get the results back from the PFT. My problem is that I am a full time firefighter and it seems that this could be a dangerous situation. Is there anything else I can do to help or try to prevent symptoms in the meantime? I have called the docs office and asked and they say to avoid strenuous activity.... which is not really an option.
Did you find this post helpful?
|

replied May 16th, 2012