Medical Questions > Debate Forums > Abortion Debate Forum

Question on personhood for the unborn (Page 1)

Recently, in San Francisco, an unborn child was partially removed from the womb in order to have a renal tract obstruction repaired. After the surgery, the child was replaced in the womb to continue the pregnancy. Was this a person while out of the womb and then a non-person again when back inside? Or, since the procedure involves the removal of the lower half of the body from the womb, did the child achieve personhood for its buttocks but not for its brain?
Did you find this post helpful?
|

User Profile
replied June 27th, 2008
Especially eHealthy
Confused

I'm not a scientist, but my opinion would be that, since the baby was still attached to the mother via the umbilical cord (and receiving blood and oxygen through it), he was not technically "removed", although part of his body was outside of hers. She was still his only source of oxygen and nutrients, and he was not breathing on his own.
|

replied June 27th, 2008
Extremely eHealthy
I'm sorry -- are you speaking in the legal sense? In which case, my guess is that no, that fetus did not achieve any temporary rights as a person.
|

replied June 27th, 2008
I was talking in, I guess, the philosophical sense. Wink
But when does the fetus become a person then?
|

User Profile
replied June 27th, 2008
Especially eHealthy
Again, I'm not a scientist. My opinion would be that the fetus would become a person when it was independent of its mother's body, taking breaths on its own or by way of another method other than its mother. This would be when the baby is delivered and the cord is severed, I suppose.
|

replied June 27th, 2008
So the baby is only a person when he isn't completely dependent on one person?
|

replied June 27th, 2008
Extremely eHealthy
No it was still a fetus IMO, having surgery in the womb doesn't change what it is.

Rosierose wrote: