Medical Questions > Mental Health > PTSD Forum

PTSD Advice from assault

What is the best advice that you have for PTSD sufferers who have been assaulted? I was physically assaulted two years ago, as described in my earlier post, and am still having flashbacks about the experience. I also become angry when the topic is mentioned. I do not think that the pain is ever going to truly go away. I feel as if I have been raped.
Did you find this post helpful?
|

replied August 4th, 2013
I am a retired police officer and I can tell you I have dealt with victims of domestic abuse, assaults and rapes. Some victims become permanently traumatized. You compare an assault to rape as if you may think that you shouldn't have these problems. A physical assault is a big deal and for some it's very hard to get over it. I would recommend that you see someone because you have the characteristics for ptsd. Also a lot of places have support groups for victims assaults, you may want to check if their are any in your area. I don't know if you reported the assault to the police, if it's someone you lived with now or one time, dated or have a child with it's considered domestic violence related. The local police should have information as well for support groups for assault victims. The anger does happen and it's a response some people have. It can and will get better with the proper help/treatment.
|

replied August 20th, 2013