For several months now I've been having this insane runny nose. Clear watery fluid that I believed was allergies but couldn't be helped. It would just go away on its own. I noticed much more frequent and apparently unexplained headaches. I started doing some research and found a story of a man who went with a runny nose for 13 months before he was diagnosed with a spontaneous spinal fluid leak. My researched yielded that the fluid must be tested for glucose by glucose oxidase method.

I am a medical laboratory scientist so I took a few urine test strips and tested the drainage from my nose. Sure enough it tested positive for 100-150 mg/dl of glucose. (I read a publication stating that urine or diabetic test strips are sufficient for this test) I was terrified upon finding this out and I have an appointment scheduled for next week at an ear/nose/throat doctor. But I wanted some unbiased input from a community at large, is this something I need to be concerned about? Am I blowing smoke? I certainly don't want to waste a doctor's time, but the leakage is seemingly without a cause (no sickness, no head injury), it is very occasional (two or three times a month) but is just copious amounts of clear watery fluid. I have tested the fluid several times since and it always comes back positive, sometimes up to 200 mg/dl glucose. I do notice a headache sometimes before or after a leak. Like I said this has gone on for a few months but it seems like every time it lasts a little longer (up to several hours) and goes away for no apparent reason. It makes it very difficult to do my job and interact with patients and other staff. I appear disgusting and unprofessional when my nose is literally dripping everywhere and I can't make it stop.

Also I just turned 26 in November, other than aortic stenosis congenital defect I am completely healthy, slightly overweight. I feel like I am too young for this (?)
Did you find this post helpful?
|

User Profile
replied January 7th, 2014