Medical Questions > Mental Health > Panic Attacks Forum

Panic attacks caused by refined sugar.

Forty years ago, as an electronic technician, I became interested in neurology, at circuits in the brain and comparing them to electronic circuits. The led me to design and build a range of biofeedback equipment to induce a deep trancendental or Alpha state of “no mind”as I came to believe that this was a healing state. Among these was a galvanic skin monitor or GSR that measures skin conductance which increases as one relaxes. A simple device with two electrodes connected to two fingers with an oscillator who's pitch decreased as one relaxed. Now I wanted to use it for migraine sufferers so the oscillator had to go and I coupled it to a bed lamp with a low wattage globe, the idea being to extinguish the lamp by relaxing.
To better understand what was going on I began to study biochemistry and endocrinology, concentrating on diabetes 1 as it is a deregulation of not just blood sugar, but of protein. fat and bone metabolism. To better understand blood sugar regulation I bought a blood glucose monitor and did two 5 hr GTT (glucose tolerance tests) on myself, one using glucose and one using a piece of toast with avocado on it to compare the difference between the single sugar and that of starch. There was a radical difference, the one with glucose having a sharp rise and fall compared to the toast which was much flatter. Now what excited me about the one using glucose was that when my blood glucose fell sharply I became very confused and had visual disturbances. I HAD IDENTIFIED THE CONFUSION BEFORE A MIGRAINE HEADACH as linked to the fall, that it DIDN'T just happen out of the blue as neurologists claimed.