Medical Questions > Relationships > Troubled and Abusive Relationships Forum

Obsession and anxiety about a ... "crush" at work.

Hi there,
I feel it almost vital to talk about my personal context before going into this story (because honestly, this experience for a healthy, secure person would be such a non-ordeal -- or, maybe not, who knows).

I have experienced obsessive, ruminative thinking to very high degrees. The most apt way to describe it is "tormenting." Like, you know those pictures of people being spun around and barbecued in hell like in Dante's Inferno? When this one guy, a very emotionally void and distant yet intelligent and handsome man, broke up with me in college, I couldn't get over it. I woke up thinking about him. I thought about him on my way to class. When I studied. I felt like a slave to his sheer absence. A year after our pitifully short relationship of 3 months, I was still not over it and tried to get back with him.

Of course, it wasn't about him. I grew up in a family of repressed, angry, resentful, depressed, and anxious addicts or former addicts and have accordingly followed suit. My mom stuck around and took care of her alcoholism, but I have many painful feelings of abandonment and anxiety from growing up with her and her problems. My dad is also an alcoholic, but severely mentally ill and lives as a homeless man. It shouldn't surprise me that I have addictive, obsessive, and compulsive tendencies. But then there I was a year and a half after me and the guy broke up, and I felt fine. It took some counseling and fun-times making with my new friends at school, but I remember one night having a dream of him turning into a bird and flying away. Upon waking, I almost sprang up and ran a couple laps. It was the weirdest, most liberating moment of my life.

Here I am a couple of years after college, almost 25 years old. I'm working as a copy writer and a waiter to help cushion the bills.