Medical Questions > Conditions and Diseases > Asthma Forum

My son was just dxed with asthma

Hi all,

My 7 year old son was just dxed with asthma, and I'm just looking for tips to keep it under control.

He's always had seasonal allergy symptoms (hives, coughing) and has a sesame allergy (anaphylaxis) but this year is the first time he's had asthma symptoms. Twice in the past two weeks we've been in the ER for difficulty breathing and wheezing. Yesterday, his pulse ox was at 91 before the two neb txs they gave him.

His ped (and I!) are hoping that this is allergy related only, and will subside once spring is over. But, on the meantime, what are some things I can do to help his symptoms, other than the meds he is on (albuterol, Flovent, Flonase, Allegra, and prednisone?) I am a nurse, but I work in obgyn and know nothing about this kind of thing.

Any advice would be awesome. Thanks Smile
Did you find this post helpful?
|

replied March 29th, 2012