Medical Questions > Cancer > Skin Cancer Forum

Mole on back and swollen lymph node

Must Read
What is melanoma? This section give you a quick intro to this particular type of skin cancer, including the entire range of types of melanomas....
Doctors are pretty certain that ultraviolet radiation plays a role in the development of melanoma. Which other activities put you at risk of melanoma?...
What does melanoma look like? Learn to identify early signs and symptoms of melanoma with this full description of symptoms of melanoma here....
User Profile
Hi, Im a 20 year old female who regularly tans in the sun and in tanning salons. I have been doing so since I was about 14 years old. I have had a large swollen lymph node in my right armpit for the last two years. I visited both my family doctor and a surgeon and was told not to worry about it, and that it would go away on its on. I haven't been concerned about it at all until I recently read an article in Cosmopolitan magazine about a girl who died from a suntan at the age of 26. She had melanoma and didn't find out about it until it was to late. Example being, she developed a large swollen lymph node in her groin area. Later to discover she had early signs that were improperly diagnosed. After reading the article I did a mole exam on my body using the ABCD graph. I discovered a mole on the left side of my back which I have had for as long as I can remember, but I don't remember the jagged boarder around it. The boarder is a different color than the mole itself, and forms a wavy outline. So now with a strange mole on my back, and a very large (grape size) swollen lymph node in my armpit... I am starting to become concerned. Am I jumping to conclusions? Do swollen lymph nodes always get diagnosed so passively? Or can a doctor simply tell the difference just by looking? No biopsy was performed on either visit. Advice would be extremely helpful, I am planning on visiting a dermatologist. Are there certain things I need to s