Medical Questions > Mental Health > Sleep Disorders Forum

moaning before and during sleep + coughing

I developed a really bad cough over the last 5 days--it went from a light cough every couple of hours in day 1 to coughing every 10 minutes by day 5. It's a terrible itchy feeling in my throat followed my long, harsh coughing. I've been coughing so much that I have a pounding headache with each cough.

That's not the worst part. On top of this cough, about day 2 into this...I start moaning when I try to fall asleep. Right as I feel like I'm about to drift off, I inhale and hold my breath for one second and exhale with a loud moan. The moaning is completely new to me--I have a partner whom I share a bed with and he says I've never done this before apart from when I have the occasional nightmare. The moaning right before drifting off constantly wakes me up that it takes me 2-3 hours to really doze off...and it doesn't stop there. My boyfriend says I'm moaning--LOUDLY--and tossing, turning, and kicking throughout the night. I then WAKE UP in the middle of the night...I don't know if it's due to the moaning or the urge to cough. I repeat the cycle of hacking coughs and moaning as I try to fall asleep.

I feel fatigued throughout the day, but I think that's just because I haven't been able to get a good night's sleep. I do NOT have a runny nose, fever, muscle aches, bone aches, and what have you. It's just couching and moaning. Does anyone have any guesses as to what I might have?? I just moved 500 miles and haven't chosen a new PCP yet, and can't afford my health insurance's urgent care/ER copay.
Did you find this post helpful?
|

replied February 26th, 2013
I have recently started doing this too! I've been coughing pretty badly for a week or so but the past 3 nights it's been impossible to get to sleep because I'm always waking myself up with these moans. My wife has commented on me making a lot of noise throughout the night too with moans and talking to myself.