Medical Questions > Womens Health > Menstruation Forum

Missed period after Nuvaring use

I've been using the ring for a couple years now. The way I use it is different though. At the end of the 3 weeks I usually just replace it to put off getting my period for a while. I only do this for 3 months max and then I'll let myself get my period. However, the last time I took the ring out I let myself have my period and then put a new one in a week after my period finished. During that week when I had ended my period and still didn't have my ring it I had unprotected sex. I put my ring in 48 hours after and took it out three weeks later. It's now been a week since I've taken it out and I still have no signs of having my period. I've taken 2 pregnancy tests this week and they have both turned out negitive. Does anyone know if this is normal?
Did you find this post helpful?
|

replied January 10th, 2010
i had the same thing happen on the ring. i was so worried i was pregant and i even got a false postive on one of my tests, so i was freaking out cuz we just had our first baby 3 months ealier. I am sure your alright if you only had it out for 48 hours and put a new one in but if your saying you are 48 hours late putting it in after being our a week, you might want to get a blood test done just to be sure if your worried the at home tests wernt accurate. I had to get a blood test to stop worring and mine was negative. I hope this helps, but to answer your questions YES nuvaring does wired things to your body and they claim its "normal" also you could call the nuvaring hotline and ask. i have had to do that with a few questions i have had about the medication, its quite helpful.
|
Did you find this post helpful?
Must Read
Menstruation is a woman's normal monthly menstrual period. But what are the signs of abnormal periods? When is vaginal bleeding serious?...