Medical Questions > Womens Health > Menstruation Forum

Microgestin Fe for almost a month

User Profile
Hi,

I've been on Microgestin Fe for almost a month now and this is my first time on birth control pill. I am on my 4th sugar pill tonight. My boyfriend and I had unprotected sex on the third week. And on the third week, I also experienced minor, fleeting cramps and I had a white fluid discharge. On my third sugar pill (which was last night) I had my period. On that night too, I experienced severe cramps. It was so painful that I threw up twice. My question is, could this be menstruation or is this vaginal bleeding that happens during the first trimester of being pregnant? I have read somewhere that you could experience bleeding while pregnant. My discharge is that of a normal menstruation and I am having cramps. What is the difference between menstruation and vaginal bleeding while pregnant? What are the symptoms I could look for to set them apart? I also took a test 7 days after my expected period and it came out negative.

Did you find this post helpful?
|

User Profile
replied December 18th, 2010
Menstruation Answer A17854
Hi,
Welcome to ehealthforum.
You are not protected while on your first pack of birth control use. Additional protection (condom/spermicide) is recommended while having intercourse during first month of pill use. The bleeding that you describe could be indicative of pregnancy. Look out for other symptoms suggestive of pregnancy like: fatigue, nausea, constipation, increased sleep, hunger and tiredness, mood changes, headaches, back pain, lower abdominal cramps, increased frequency of urine, breast soreness, nipple sensitivity, blue veins on breasts, pelvic discomfort and heaviness, food cravings, dizziness, increase in vaginal discharge without any foul smell or any other associated symptoms like itching, burning rashes etc.