I stopped taking all bipolar pharmaceuticals around 8 years ago. I have been on Depakote, Trazadone, Resperadol, Adderall(im hyperactive too), Wellbutrin, Prozac, Lithium, and much more. These medications had devestating effects on my health and quite possibly my liver/kidneys. My friends said that after I had taken this cocktail of medications for a year I was beginning to become fat/gain weight. I went through a detoxification process at MediCann (www.medicannusa.com) and I am in my second year of a medical marijuana recommendation.

I have been medicating using cannabis ever since. My mood swings only manifest themselves when I do not have this medication - therefore I am investing in growing equipment as it can be quite expensive to purchase at street price.

My physician recommends an indica for manic phases, and advises to stay clear of sativas except during phases of depression. I will say this is the best homeopathic remedy available in any of the 11 states that have legalized it. California, as far as I know, is the only state that will allow it recommended to you for this, most other states require some sort of life threatening disease. For those that dislike smoking it is highly recommended to obtain an oral tincture, edible such as brownies, cookies, etc, or vaporization of THC at subflammable temperatures.

I look forward to when the FDA puts Sativex on clinical trial, then this medication will be available in an oralmucosal mouthspray. So far they are only marketing Sativex for muscular dystrophy, but I feel it would be a great way to curb the anxiety and mania of a bipolar patient. It is on demand too, whenever the symptoms appear simply spray it in your mouth.