Medical Questions > Mental Health > Depression Forum

Losing interested in school

Ok so, my parents have been pressuring me about grades, intelligence and getting into a good college for as long as I can remember, and it has rubbed off on me. I'm only a freshman, and I'm already in 3 AP classes as well as orchestra, a language, swimming, and synchronized swimming. I have always put a tremendous amount of pressure on myself to push harder and be better.
Recently I've found myself losing interest in school and various extra curriculars, as a result, many of my grades have dropped. At first I didn't care, and then I realized what this had done to my GPA and I panicked, I'm still not sure I can salvage my GPA, there's just too much to do.
When I realized what I had done I freaked out. As I'm sure most of you know, to get into a good college anymore, a 4.0 isn't just the icing on the cake- it's a requirement, and it has me worried.
I don't know if I'm depressed or not. I guess there are times when I think that I should just kill myself because that way I wont have anything to worry about, and I wont get into a good college anyway, and then I feel absolutely ridiculous because I know there are so many people out there that have bigger problems than me and they toughed it out.
I just need to know what I should do now?
Did you find this post helpful?
|

User Profile
replied February 16th, 2009
Don't worry
first things first don't kill yourself.
I want you to write me