Medical Questions > Mental Health > Sleep Disorders Forum

Idiopathic Hypersomnia VS. Non-cataplexic Narcolepsy?

Hey everyone,

I'm new here, and just registered to ask some questions. For a brief background picture, I am currently a university student living with (self-diagnosed) Idiopathic Hypersomnia. (I haven't yet confirmed it with an official sleep study because: 1) I cannot afford one as a broke college student, and 2) disability is seen as shameful in my family/culture (we are Chinese), so I cannot bring the condition up with my parents to use their health insurance either, lest I be disowned.)

I started showing symptoms back in 2010 during my second year of university. I found I was constantly unable to stay awake for longer than around 8 hours in a 24-hour day, which meant I required on average 16 hours of sleep a day in function properly. No matter how much sleep I got, I NEVER felt refreshed, and whenever I woke up from sleep, I would feel incredibly sleepy again after 4 hours or so. I could not avoid falling asleep -- I would start to get a "pressure headache" seemingly emanating from the middle of my brain, and my eyelids would start to droop and feel extremely heavy, and hence I would have no choice but to fall asleep immediately in that moment (kind of like a Narcoleptic person without cataplexy). Falling asleep was the only way to temporarily relieve this unusual headache and excessive daytime sleepiness.

Needless to say, my university life was agonizing, having to deal with the fact that, whereas I was a straight-A and top student throughout high school and the first year of university, the onset of my Idiopathic Hypersomnia in my second year meant I had little time for homework/studying, let alone even waking up to attend classes. As a result, my grades and GPA went to hell (among other things), and I developed depression due to my inability to function.