Medical Questions > Mental Health > ADD and ADHD Forum

I think I may have ADHD/ADD... Can anyone give me some advice?

I'm not sure where to post this as I've just made an account but I'd be grateful if someone could give me some advice!!

Okay so I'm a 19 year old female, currently studying at college (UK) and I think I may have ADHD-PI/ADD.
I've done some research and discovered that a lot of girls go undiagnosed because they lack the hyperactivity that is usually found when dealing with people with ADHD.

My reasons for this being:
(I'm not very good at explaining myself so bare with me, please!)

I'm sorry if I go off topic at all...

1. I find it very difficult to concentrate on one thing for longer than say 2-5 minutes - I often have homework that would normally take someone 30 mins - 1 hr to do , yet takes me atleast 3-4 hrs as I'm pretty much distracted by anything and everything, OR I leave it til last minute and ask my friends if they can give me some help. In class, I'm quick to get distracted and I often start talking to other people about the most pointless things which then they and my teacher get annoyed.. Even looking out a window is enough to distract me.

2. I'm constantly tapping/slapping my hands or clapping. I'm always doing something, when I'm eating or sitting at a table I catch myself 'wiggling' and my lecturer in one of my classes is constantly asking me to stop tapping my foot against my chair, loosly waving my pen around or clicking the top of my pens. A lot of people find it annoying, yet I'm usually unaware that I'm doing it until someone makes a point of telling me. I always seem to be clapping/tapping in a sort of rhythm. I also get like a weird "excited" feeling which is like a urge to rub my hands together and my heart then beats faster as a result, and feel kind of stiff.