Medical Questions > Mental Health > Bipolar Disorder Forum

I think I'm bipolar, but I can't afford treatment. I need help.

I don't even know where to begin.

I'm 49 years old. I work as a mental health professional, so I may just be wrongly diagnosing myself, but I don't think so.

Right now, I feel like my life is unraveling and I'm crashing. I work 2 part-time jobs. Six years ago I divorced my husband after 22 years of marriage. I quit my government job making $60,000/year because I had fallen 'in love' with my boss and couldn't stand the pain of working every day with someone who would never love me. I sold my home and used my half of the divorce settlement to move 1200 miles back to my home state. Then I went back to graduate school to become a counselor, while living off the financial aid and working full-time. I got my master's degree in 2010, and got a well-paying job straight out of school. But I quickly became overwhelmed and quit that job after 7 months.

Now I have two part-time jobs that net about $21,000/year. My home has been foreclosed on, but I signed a deed-for-lease contract. I cannot find another full-time job with benefits, so I am unable to afford testing and treatment for bipolar disorder, and I am just barely able to summon the energy to make it to work each day. I'm at the end of my rope. If I didn't work with children, I would find some way to kill myself and make it work this time. But, I don't want to traumatize the kids I work with. I don't have the energy to seek help anymore. I just want to get on meds so badly, because I feel like it will give me back the ability to function. But I can't afford the meds.

Does anybody have some ideas on what I can do?
Did you find this post helpful?
|

User Profile
replied March 17th, 2013
Community Volunteer